West Allis rules. Beyond being the host city for Wisconsin State Fair, the misunderstood and maligned Milwaukee suburb is also home to some great bars and breweries, some excellent restaurants, and two places that make some of the biggest mozzarella sticks we’ve ever seen. Once spring and summer roll around, ‘Stallis also keeps the fun coming with a few recurring series that bring locally sourced food, drinks, and entertainment to town on a recurring basis.

Instead of writing, like, 300 different articles about each of ’em, we figured it’d just make more sense to combine a few City Of West Allis-produced series lineups into one super informative post. So in no particular order, here we go!

West Allis Farmers Market

This particular Farmers Market has been going strong since 1919! It runs Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Saturdays starting in May. In addition to the dozens of area vendors at this permanent outdoor marketplace (located at 6501 W. National Ave.), the Thursday and Saturday markets also offer free live music on-site from 2-5 p.m. from June through the end of October. Here’s the full music lineup for this year’s West Allis Farmers Market.

Thursday, June 6 – Julien Kozak
Saturday, June 8 – Jon Rouse
Thursday, June 13 – Kevin Mulvenna
Saturday, June 15 – Ricky Orta Jr.
Thursday, June 20 – Sam Ness
Saturday, June 22 – Tenley Sheldon
Thursday, June 27 – Greg Wessel
Saturday, June 29 – Tango En Fuego
Saturday, July 6 – Jim Madritsch
Thursday, July 11 – Ricky Orta Jr.
Saturday, July 13 – Inversion Jazz Band
Thursday, July 18 – Lindsay Shanks
Saturday, July 20 – Eugene Gruber
Thursday, July 25 – Jon Rouse
Saturday, July 27 – Leah Jee
Thursday, August 1 – Orlando Peña
Saturday, August 3 – Greg Wessel
Thursday, August 8 – David Mazzie
Saturday, August 10 – Orlando Peña
Thursday, August 15 – Julien Kozak
Saturday, August 17 – Party Marty
Thursday, August 22 – Andy Braun
Saturday, August 24 – Ricky Orta Jr.
Thursday, August 29 – Lindsay Shanks
Saturday, August 31 – Jim Madritsch
Thursday, September 5 – Bill Armstrong
Saturday, September 7 – Inversion Jazz Band
Thursday, September 12 – Ricky Orta Jr.
Saturday, September 14 – Brendan Demet
Thursday, September 19 – Sam Ness
Saturday, September 21 – Jon Rouse
Thursday, September 26 – Eugene Gruber
Saturday, September 28 – Party Marty
Thursday, October 3 – Andy Braun
Saturday, October 5 – Orlando Peña
Thursday, October 10 – Ricky Orta Jr.
Saturday, October 12 – Greg Wessel
Thursday, October 17 – Bill Armstrong
Saturday, October 19 – Inversion Jazz Band
Thursday, October 24 – Julien Kozak
Saturday, October 26 – Brendan Demet
Thursday, October 31 – Party Marty

Food Truck Friday

On select Friday nights between early June and the end of September, the Farmers Market grounds (that address once again is 6501 W. National Ave.) gives way to the ever-popular Food Truck Friday series, which brings a culinary convoy of more than 20 local food truck purveyors out to sell their goods from 5-8 p.m. West Allis-based breweries Ope! and Perspective Brewing are also on-site, as are local performers who provide free music to enjoy with your meal. Here’s the music lineup for the Food Truck Friday series, which begins this weekend!

Friday, June 7 — Scott Kirby
Friday, June 21 — Ricky Orta Jr.
Friday, July 12 — Ohlschmidt, Panosh & Cohen
Friday, July 26 — Party Marty
Friday, August 16 — Nate Scheurell
Friday, August 30 — Orlando Peña
Friday, September 13 — Leah Jee
Friday, September 27 — Scott Kirby

Summer Concert Series

Last but certainly not least, we come to West Allis’ aptly-named Summer Concert Series. Starting June 20 and running through September 19, the series finds a different project playing at Veterans Memorial Park (located at 70th and National) from 6-8 p.m. one Thursday per month. There’s also food from a rotating cast of area vendors and beer available from 1840 Brewing (both of which start service at 5 p.m.), but the main focus is the music. Check out the full Summer Concert Series lineup below.

Thursday, June 20 — Reverend Raven & the Chain Smokin’ Altar Boys
Thursday, July 18 — De La Buena
Thursday, August 22 — The Whikeybelles
Thursday, September 19 — The Hungry Williams

If you’re looking for some summer fun with a side of live music, head to West Allis this summer.

About The Author

Avatar photo
Co-Founder and Editor

Before co-founding Milwaukee Record, Tyler Maas wrote for virtually every Milwaukee publication (except Wassup! Magazine). He lives in Bay View and enjoys both stuff and things.