Beginning Tuesday, November 10, any community member age 5 or older can receive a free rapid-results COVID-19 test courtesy of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. So get tested, Milwaukee.

The Milwaukee testing site is located in the Wisconsin Room on the second floor of the UWM Student Union (2200 E. Kenwood Blvd.) Two additional testing sites are located at UWM at Waukesha (1500 N. University Dr., Waukesha) and UWM at Washington County (400 S. University Dr., West Bend).

Participants must register ahead of time at www.doineedacovid19test.com. No walk-in appointments, folks.

The tests are self-administered, nasal swab Abbott BinaxNOW antigen tests. (Federal contractor eTrueNorth is supervising the tests.) After taking a test, results will be available in about 15 minutes, and can be retrieved by logging onto www.doineedacovid19test.com via smartphone or an on-site computer terminal.

If you have symptoms and/or test positive, you can immediately sign up for a free confirmatory PCR test. Results from that test will be available in about four days.

Here are the dates and hours for the three locations. (The first hour of each day is reserved for UWM employees and/or students.)

Tuesday, November 10
Milwaukee: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Wednesday, November 11
Milwaukee: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Thursday, November 12
Milwaukee: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Friday, November 13
Milwaukee: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Monday, November 16
Milwaukee: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Tuesday November 17
Milwaukee: 11 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Wednesday, November 18
Waukesha and Washington County: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Thursday, November 19
Waukesha and Washington County: 11 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Friday, November 20
Milwaukee: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Monday, November 23
Milwaukee: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Tuesday, November 24
Milwaukee: 11 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Wednesday, November 25
Waukesha and Washington County: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Monday, November 30
Milwaukee: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Tuesday, December 1
Milwaukee: 11 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Wednesday, December 2
Waukesha and Washington County: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Thursday, December 3
Waukesha and Washington County: 11 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Friday, December 4
Milwaukee: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Monday, December 7
Milwaukee: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Tuesday, December 8
Milwaukee: 11 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Wednesday, December 9
Waukesha and Washington County: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Thursday, December 10
Waukesha and Washington County: 11 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Friday, December 11
Milwaukee: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Monday, December 14
Milwaukee: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Tuesday, December 15
Milwaukee: 11 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Wednesday, December 16
Waukesha and Washington County: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Thursday, December 17
Milwaukee: 11 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Friday, December 18
Waukesha and Washington County: 9 a.m. – 5 p.m.

The program is part of a six-week federal “surge testing” effort designed to curb the spread of COVID-19 in Wisconsin. The Milwaukee site alone expects to test as many as 1,500 people per day.

HERE are additional COVID-19 testing sites in Milwaukee. HERE are additional COVID-19 testing sites in Wisconsin.

About The Author

Co-Founder and Editor

Matt Wild weighs between 140 and 145 pounds. He lives on Milwaukee's east side.

X