After the April 15 ceremony was rescheduled on account of a blizzard, the 38th annual Wisconsin Area Music Industry Awards (aka “WAMIs”) took over the Appleton Performing Arts Center Sunday night, and what a night it was. Those in attendance were treated to performances by The Cherrypops, Husher, SACRED, and more. GGOOLLDD, Abby Jeanne, Platinum Boys, Soul Low, and, um, Vic Ferrari won big at the ceremony. Blues guitarist Billy Flynn, glam metal singer (and Cheeseheads With Attitude frontman) Stevie Rachelle, and jazz trumpeter Bunny Berigan were inducted into the WAMI Hall of Fame. Oh, and Happy Schnapps Combo totally got robbed in the Polka Artist category.

Here’s the full list of winners:

Artist of the Year: GGOOLLDD

Album of the Year: Tre Principesse, Getting To Know You

Song of the Year: Altered Five Blues Band, “Charmed And Dangerous”

New Artist: Tre Principesse

Female Vocalist: Abby Jeanne

Male Vocalist: Kyle Menga

Singer/Songwriter: Tom Thief

Rising Star: Lokke and Jaid Ruffing (tie)

Alternative Rock/Rock Artist: Kyle Megna & The Monsoons

Bluegrass/Americana: Ordinary Heathens

Blues Artist: Altered Five Blues Band

Christian/Gospel: John Paul Larson

Country Artist: Bella Cain

Cover Artist: Vic Ferrari

Folk/Celtic: Warrior Songs

Hard Rock: Black Belt Theatre

Metal: Beatallica

Punk: Platinum Boys

Jazz Artist: Erin Krebs and Jeff Johnston

Polka: Val Sigal Polka

Pop Rock Artist: Soul Low

Hip Hop/Rap Artist: BLAX

R&B/Soul Artist: Porky’s Groove Machine

World/Reggae/Ska/Latin: Unity The Band

Club DJ/Dance/Electronic: NO/NO

Horn/Big Band: Phat Phunktion

Tribute: The Rush Tribute Project

Bass Player: Evil Evans

Drummer: Adam Hatton

Guitar Player: Bobby Evans

Keyboard Player: Mark Chartre

Reeds/Brass Player: Al Falasci

Strings Player: Emily Knutson

Best Studio Engineer/Producer: Tom Washatka

Best Recording Studio: Rock Garden

Best Live Club/Venue: Gibson Music Hall

Best Live Engineer Sound/Lights: Mike Fleury

President’s Award: Ryan Vander Sanden


Band: BoomBoxx
Fan: Jaeden Pillar
Venue: Deja Vu Martini Lounge
Radio Station: Razor 94.7
Music Teacher: Mark Budwit

Band: Spicy Tie Band
Fan: Leanne Booher
Venue: Hodag
Radio Station: Rock 94.7 WOZZ
Music Teacher: Brian McLaughlin

Band: The Playlist
Fan: Dan Goretski
Venue: The Saloon On Calhoun
Radio Station: 91.7 WMSE
Music Teacher: Daniel Faustmann

Band: Pat Watters Band
Fan: Mark Breunig
Venue: Fawn Creek Winery
Radio Station: Rock 97.1 WCOW
Music Teacher: Brad Burril