Last week, we discussed whether or not the Wisconsin Area Music Industry awards (or WAMIs, if you’re nasty) were still relevant, whether or not they were ever relevant, and, more importantly, whether or not they were worth making fun of anymore. We didn’t come up with a satisfying answer (do we ever?), but we did manage to inspire a lively debate and make a few jokes about Fond du Lac along the way. We’ll go ahead and call it a success.

Anyway, the 2014 WAMI awards were held last night in Appleton, and here are the winners, via the Journal Sentinel. PHOX won a bunch of stuff (as prophesied), as did Volcano Choir and that one song Vic And Gab always play during their noon, 3:30 p.m., and 7:45 p.m. shows.

Artist of the year: PHOX

Album of the year: “Repave,” Volcano Choir

Song of the year: “Let You Down,” Vic And Gab

Female vocalist: Lyndsay Evans (Sexy Ester)

Male vocalist: Cory Chisel (Cory Chisel And The Wandering Sons)

New artist: Joe Neary Band

Singer/songwriter: Nora Collins

Rising Star: Bad Habitz

Alternative rock/rock artist: PHOX

Pop rock artist: Vic And Gab

Folk/Celtic artist: Blessed Feathers

Bluegrass/Americana artist: Hugh Bob And The Hustle

Blues artist: Altered Five

Christian/gospel artist: Lightswitch

Country artist: Grand Union

Cover artist: Half Empty

Hard rock/metal artist: Conniption

Hip-hop/rap artist: Pizzle

R&B/soul artist: The People Brothers Band

World/reggae/ska/Latin artist: Unity The Band

Jazz Artist: Nineteen Thirteen

Polka Artist: Steve Meisner

Club DJ/Dance/electronic artist: Antics

Horn/big band: Extra Crispy Brass Band

Tribute band: Separate Ways

Bass player: Conway Powell (Carlos Adames Group, John Frye Band, Tomcat Joe)

Drummer: Andrew Klaus (Shaker And The Egg)

Guitarist: Dean Arndt (Metal Men)

Keyboard player: Danny Moore (Rev Raven & The Chain Smoking Altar Boys, Danny Moore & The Boogie Woogie Flu)

Reeds/brass player: Kevin Klemme (trumpet — Extra Crispy Brass Band, Herman Astro, Tweed Funk)

Strings player: Janet Schiff (cello — Nineteen Thirteen)

Producer: Marc Golde (Rock Garden Studio)

Recording studio: Rock Garden Studio

People’s Choice Awards (Northeast): band — Adams Way; venue — JJ Maloney’s; radio station — WAPL-FM (105.7); music teacher — Mark Budwit

People’s Choice Awards (Southeast): band — Georgia Overdrive; venue — Summer Sounds (Cedarburg); radio station — WYMS-FM (88.9); music teacher — Derek Machan

People’s Choice Awards (Southwest): band — The Pat Watters Band; venue — Taste of Madison; radio station — WCOW-FM (97.1); music teacher — combined with Southeast because of low voting totals

WAMI Hall of Fame inductees: Woody Herman, Janet Planet, Warren Wiegratz