Who’s got WAMI fever? Wednesday morning, the folks behind the Wisconsin Area Music Industry awards unveiled the nominees for their 39th annual shindig, set for Sunday, April 14 at Turner Hall Ballroom. Covering everything from artist/album/song of the year (whole lotta Milwaukee here, including Lex Allen, Field Report, and more) to best polka and tribute act (THE PRINCE EXPERIENCE WITH GABRIEL SANCHEZ), the nominees are sure to delight, entertain, and occasionally confound. It wouldn’t be the WAMIs any other way.

WAMI will host a free party celebrating the nominees on Sunday, March 31 at Brookfield’s Saloon on Calhoun (up for Best Live Club/Venue, as always). Voting for the People’s Choice Awards, meanwhile, is live through the end of the month.

Oh yeah: This year’s WAMI Hall of Fame inductees are Milwaukee musician extraordinaire Paul Cebar (he’s great), 1950s vocal quartet The Chordettes (they sang “Mr. Sandman” and “Lollipop”), and ’80s/’90s heavy metal band Realm (they covered “Eleanor Rigby,” but fast).

Artist of the Year
Lex Allen
Chris Kroeze
Unity The Band
Horseshoes & Hand Grenades
Field Report
Feed The Dog
Dead Horses

Album of the Year
Field Report – Summertime Songs
Horseshoes & Hand Grenades – The Ode
Lorde Fredd33 – Norf: The Legend of Hotboy Ronald
Feed The Dog – Tenderloin
Warrior Songs – Women at War: Warrior Songs Vol. 2
Yipes! – Yipes!!!
Lex Allen – Table 7: Sinners and Saints
Keith Pulvermacher – 45 Story

Song of the Year
Amanda Huff & Peter Thomas – “Only In Dreams”
Reyna – “Heartbeat”
Calliope – “Sea of Red”
Buffalo Gospel – “18 Wheeler”
Trapper Schoepp – “On Wisconsin”
Webster X – “Feels”
Abby Jeanne – “Be In The Sun”
Vinyl Theatre – “Masterpiece”

New Artist of the Year
The Docksiders
The First Wave
Block Party
Brett and The Dandys
Spirited Strings
Jessie Marie and the Rippers

Male Vocalist of the Year
Rich Hoffman
Steve March-Torme
Chris Hodgson
Andre Beaudot
Julio Reyes
Jeff Taylor
Sean Jones
Eddie Martinez

Female Vocalist of the Year
Kaylee Pecha
Erin Krebs
Jennifer Schafer
Paige Baker
Jackie Brown
Michele McCarthy
Anastasia Lee

Singer/Songwriter of the Year
Ben Wagner
Keith Pulvermacher
Kyle Feerick
Laura Petersen
Kurt Gunn
Sammy Ray Marshall
Joe Richter
Alyssia Dominguez

Rising Star of the Year
Figure It Out
Jenna Kopitske
Lilie Fouts
Parker Collar
Ebony Loren
Sadie Jo Schwefel

Alternative Rock/Rock Artist
More Then Merry
Chris Haise Band
Horace Greene

Bluegrass/Americana Artist
Wise Jennings
Feed The Dog
Horseshoes & Hand Grenades
Mascot Theory
The Fainting Room
Dead Horses
Chicken Wire Empire
Zach Pietrini

Christian/Gospel Artist
Spirited Strings
Kevin Hayden
Night Divine
Mike Westendorf
Masonic Wonders

Blues Artist
Reverend Raven & The Chain Smokin’ Altar Boys
Altered Five Blues Band
Robert Allen, Jr.
Madtown Mannish Boys
The Blues Disciples
Jay Edward
Tallan Noble Latz
David Miller Band

Country Artist
Grand Union
Rebel Grace
Dexter Road
Buffalo Gospel
Driveway Thriftdwellers
Stetsin & Lace
Madison County

Cover Artist
Panic Station
Star Six Nine
Almighty Vinyl
The Now
The Toys
33 RPM
A-Town Unplugged
Bella Cain

Folk/Celtic Artist
The Roving Scallywags
Warrior Songs
Killarney Blarney
Trapper Schoepp
John Stano
Derek Byrne and Paddygrass

Hard Rock Artist
Lords of The Trident
The Homeland Conspiracy
Last Crack
Imperial Fall
Sons of Kong
Cyanide Son
Stone Crow
Killing Rapunzel

Metal Artist
Memories Wither
Jungle Rot
Morta Skuld
Monorail Central

Punk Artist
Slaughter Party
The Cherrypops
The First Rule
Solid Freex!
Fox Face

Jazz Artist
KWT featuring Tom Washatka
The Jazz Orgy
Randi Fay
The Bill Schmidt Jazz Ensemble
Match Stick
Mike Standal Quartet
Jerry Grillo
Meade St. Collective

Polka Artist
Val Sigal
Happy Schnapps Combo
The Squeezettes
Alpine Blast
Tuba Dan Jerabek
The November Criminals
Steve Meisner
Rhythm Playboys

Pop Rock Artist
Brett Newski
Xposed 4Heads
Well-Known Strangers
Rocket Cat
Gin, Chocolate & Bottle Rockets

Hip Hop/Rap Artist
Vincent VanGreat
DJ Milo Gambino
Webster X
Zed Kenzo
Shle Berry
Lorde Fredd33

R&B/Soul Artist
Charles Walker Band
The People Brothers Band
Eddie Butts Band
Valerie B. and The Boys
Lex Allen
The Pocket Kings

Luma Knotty
Unity The Band
De La Buena
The Us Project
Salsa Manzana
Sista Sensi & The B Easy Band
Natty Nation
Something To Do

Club/DJ/Dance/Electronic Artist
No No Yeah Okay
DJ Zello
DJ Flux

Horn/Big Band Artist
FBI & The Untouchable Horns
The Jimmys
Extra Crispy Brass Band
Water City Jazz Orchestra
Big Mouth & The Power Tool Horns
Big Style Brass Band
Cold Sweat and The Brew City Horns
Hot and Dirty Brass Band

Tribute Artist
The Prince Experience
Master of Puppets – A Tribute to Metallica
Light Up
Steely Dane
The Rush Tribute Project
Project Pink
The Hellion

Danny Walters
Johnny Washday
Ken Gore
Jim Sorensen
Fred Velpel
Chris Hanaway
Craig Neuser
Mary Farmer

Mark Anastasi
Matt Gieseke
Chris DiDomenico
Dean Tassone
Jim Winter
Adam Hatton
Andrew Lynch
Jim Kube

Sean Williamson
Jeff Mitchell
Paris Ortiz
Angie Swan
Kyle Stair
Jay Stulo
Tom Theabo
Miles McConnell

Rebecca Kettler
Noah Harmon
Shawndell Marks
Logan Dier
Jimmy Voegeli
Josh Becker
Theo Merriweather
Sam McClain

John Vollmar
Ross Catterton
Michael Clobes
Jack Naus
Jamie Beckman
Ben Hohenstein
Greg Balfany
Matt Antoniewicz

Chauntee Ross
Thea Morton Vorass
Kayla Potter
Russ Greeley
Joe Ketchum
Tim McIlree
Monique Ross
Angela Licari

Best Studio Engineer/Producer
Eric LaBrosse
Jeff Hamilton
Marc Golde
Joe Hite
Geoff Wilbourn
Gary Tanin
Michael Mann
Steve Hamilton

Best Recording Studio
Musicmann Studios
Stories Studio
Rock Garden
Cherry Pit Studios
Tanner-Monagle, Inc.
Hi-Five Studio
Renwood Messenger Studio
Makin’ Sausage Music

Best Live Club/Venue
Shank Hall
The Saloon On Calhoun
The Cold Shot
Gibson Music Hall
North Star Casino
Potawatomi Fire Pit Sports Bar
Dundee’s Roadhouse

Best Live Engineer Sound/Lights
Todd Fink
Cole Grygny
Tom Mussa
Dan Henszey
Jon-Paul LeClair
Craig Vetrone
Steve Fry
Jason Lueck

About The Author

Avatar photo
Co-Founder and Editor

Matt Wild weighs between 140 and 145 pounds. He lives on Milwaukee's east side.