Back in 1993, director Steven Spielberg thrilled the world with Jurassic Park, the tale of out-of-control dinosaurs, the hubris of man, and Jeff Goldblum’s bare, glistening chest. Now, 21 years, two sequels, an upcoming third sequel, and one “Weird Al” homage later, Jurassic Park has been chosen as the opening film for Milwaukee Public Museum’s upcoming Sci-Fi Film Festival. In other news, Milwaukee Public Museum has an upcoming Sci-Fi Film Festival. Hold on to your butts, etc.

The lineup for MPM’s geek-tastic film fest (running Thursday, October 23 through Saturday, November 29, and tying in with its Alien Worlds And Androids exhibit) was voted on by fans, and will feature other classic sci-fi films like 2001: A Space Odyssey, Back To The Future, and the original Planet Of The Apes. The final, yet-to-be-determined film will be the “biggest sci-fi turkey of all time,” so head over to www.mpm.edu and cast your vote. And please, resist the urge to vote for Plan 9 From Outer Space. Vote for The Happening instead.

The full fest lineup is below. All films screen in the museum’s Dome Theater at 6:30 p.m, with pre-show entertainment beginning at 6 p.m. Tickets are $5, and can be purchased here.

Jurassic Park
Thursday, October 23
Saturday, October 25

E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial
Thursday, October 30
Saturday, November 1

2001: A Space Odyssey
Thursday, November 6
Saturday, November 8

Planet Of The Apes (1968)
Thursday, November 13
Saturday, November 15

Back To The Future
Thursday, November 20
Saturday, November 22

??? – TBD – Biggest Sci-Fi Turkey of All Time!
No Film Thanksgiving Day
Saturday, November 29

X