The UWM Union Cinema has been a hidden-not-really-hidden gem of Milwaukee’s East Side since 1972. Located inside the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Student Union, the unassuming theater has long served as a terrific resource for students and non-students alike, offering impeccably programmed lineups of independent films, Hollywood blockbusters, and fests like the Milwaukee LGBT Film/Video Festival. And if the Cinema’s just-released fall 2016 lineup is any indication, that tradition is set to continue.

Last year’s newly instated admission policy stands: Films are $5 for the general public, and free for UWM students. Non-student cinematic diehards can purchase a $50 membership that includes admission to all films during the academic year, guest passes for two films, and a small bag of popcorn on Wednesday nights. (The same membership is $40 for alumni, seniors, and members of the campus community).

Check out the Union Cinema’s almost-complete fall 2016 lineup below, featuring blockbusters like Captain America: The Winter SoldierCaptain America: Civil War, and Key and Peele’s Keanu (part of the “Fall Welcome” series August 31 – September 4), celluloid classics like Taxi Driver (in 35mm!), and a hell of “Horror Week” in late October. Oh, and Time Bandits!

Wednesday, August 31
Fall Welcome: Keanu – 7 p.m.

Friday, September 2
Fall Welcome: Captain America: The Winter Soldier – 7 p.m.
Fall Welcome: Captain America: Civil War – 9:30 p.m.

Saturday, September 3
Fall Welcome: The Huntsman: Winter’s War – 7 p.m.
Fall Welcome: The Conjuring 2 – 9:30 p.m.

Sunday, September 4
Fall Welcome: Keanu – 5 p.m.
Fall Welcome: Captain America: Civil War – 7 p.m.

Tuesday, September 6
Experimental Tuesdays: Often Undocumented Daily Texture: Work From Emerging Artists From The UWM Department Of Film, Video, Animation, And New Genres – 7 p.m.

Wednesday, September 7
Fall Welcome: The Huntsman: Winter’s War – 7 p.m.

Thursday, September 8
Fall Welcome: The Conjuring 2 – 7 p.m.

Saturday, September 10
International Cinema: My Friend From The Park (Mi Amiga del Parque) – 7 p.m.
Cinema Classics: Five Easy Pieces – 9 p.m.

Sunday, September 1
International Cinema: My Friend From The Park (Mi Amiga del Parque) – 5 p.m.
Cinema Classics: Five Easy Pieces – 7 p.m.

Wednesday, September 14
Documentary Frontiers: 30 Seconds: Breaking The Cycle – 7 p.m.

Thursday, September 15
Documentary Frontiers/Experimental Tuesdays: The Illinois Parables (16mm) – 7 p.m.

Friday, September 16
International Cinema: Neon Bull (Boi Neon) – 7 p.m.
Cinema Classics: Taxi Driver (35mm) – 9 p.m.

Saturday, September 17
International Cinema: Neon Bull (Boi Neon) – 5 p.m.
Cinema Classics: Taxi Driver (35mm) – 7 p.m.

Tuesday, September 20
Experimental Tuesdays: As The Cottonwood Flies: Film & Video By Ken Wood (16mm) – 7 p.m.

Wednesday, September 21
Share The Earth Environmental Film Series: City Of Trees – 7 p.m.

Friday, September 23
International Cinema: Chevalier – 7 p.m.

Saturday, September 24
International Cinema: Chevalier – 5 p.m.
Cinema Classics: Time Bandits – 7 p.m.

Tuesday, September 27
Experimental Tuesdays: From The Archives: Use Of Force (16mm) – 7p.m.

Wednesday, September 28
Documentary Frontiers: The Last Man On The Moon – 7 p.m.

Thursday, September 29
Documentary Frontiers: Almost Holy – 7 p.m.

Friday, September 30
International Cinema: Microbe And Gasoline (Microbe et Gasoil) – 7 p.m.

Saturday, October 1
International Cinema: Microbe And Gasoline (Microbe et Gasoil) – 5 p.m.

Wednesday, October 5
Tickled – 7 p.m.

Wednesday, October 26
Can You Dig This: Share The Earth Environmental Film Series – 7 p.m.

Thursday, October 27
Horror Week: Army Of Darkness – 7 p.m.
Horror Week: An American Werewolf In London – 9 p.m.

Friday, October 28
Horror Week: Don’t Breathe – 7 p.m.
Horror Week: Poltergeist – 9 p.m.

Saturday, October 29
Horror Week: Carrie – 7 p.m.
Horror Week: The Descent – 9 p.m.

Wednesday, November 30
An American Ascent: Share The Earth Environmental Film Series – 7 p.m.